And back home we go

Standard

 

 

 

 

Image

 

(View from St. Paul’s Cathedral. We got to look over the entire city the first night. It was both terrifying and wonderful all at the same time)

The Last two weeks have been an incredible rush. From sunup to sundown (which happened at like 4:30 p.m. in London) I had the opportunity to traverse London and surrounding areas like Bath, Oxford and a quick pop over to Paris. 

I’m so thankful for the opportunity to travel and praise God for being faithful and providing for me financially. If you’d asked me last year at this time when I’d come back from Ireland about traveling overseas again I would have said,” that’s a great DREAM, but there’s no way I could raise the $3,000+ money it costs for that trip to London/Paris.” 

Well, once again God proved me wrong, He’s got such a way of doing that. Someday I’ll have a little more faith in what the Father can do for me. 

Anyway, I got back from the trip last night and was immediately greeted by my parents by my dad holding out his empty coffee mug waiting for me to pull out the $40 worth of tea I bought (I told you friends that my family loves tea). And got to share some of the funny stories and experiences I’d had over the last two weeks. And Giggles, they told me I should have offered to tie the guards shoe too…I fail I guess ;-P

A lot of people have asked me already what was different between the U.S. and the U.K and in all honesty, they really are similar. London is filled with people with all different backgrounds and lifestyles. You have rich people from all around the world living in London, you have refugees from all over the world (currently there are a number of them from Bangladesh). They have poverty and poor and a number of homeless people (all of the homeless people seem to have dogs which I find strange) and they have wealth. 

However, they are different in a number of ways as well

  • They are more family oriented: A lot of shops close around 5 p.m. and a number of restaurants close early as well
  • Mayo: They eat mayo on their “chips” —what we call french fries
  • Ketchup: It’s served in glass bottles which is AMAZING, but it’s super sweet and I wound up having to salt it down haha.
  • Whatever they put on hamburgers: They have this strange sauce that I can’t place that they use on all of their hamburgers that I didn’t really get into and have no idea how to describe haha!
  • Phrases: They have a lot of phrases they use, like on the tube if they need to get by you they’ll say something like “cheers” after they push through
  • Public transportation: It great here, everything runs on time and if you miss one train another one goes by in a few minutes so you never have to wait. 
  • Historic: They have insane history here, many of their restaurants are several hundred years old.
  • Small: EVERYTHING is small here. Food portions and houses. A number of restaurants we ate in had multiple levels to them and you had to walk up this tiny staircase to get to the next floor. Toilets were often found in the basement and one time we had to walk across a yard in the dark to go to the toilet in Oxford (it was super sketchy, I’ll write about that later).
  • You can’t just use a toilet: Most of the time you have to buy something in a store or pay to use the toilet, you don’t just get to use it. 

Overall though, I am so thankful to have gone and experienced a city overseas after visiting the country last year. I’m looking forward to the next adventures that my future holds and for the new cultures and experiences that I’ll have. 

And WHEN I come back (and oh, I’m coming back) I will go back to Bath and see the Jane Austen Museum thank you very much!! ;-P

About farmgirlstravel

An easy way to describe me is: I love. I love people, cultures, traveling and God. I'm thankful for all the amazing opportunities I've had to do all of that at 21 and I'm so looking forward to where my life is going to go :-) Hope you enjoy

Leave a Reply

