Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and The Breakfast Club

Standard

I never considered myself much of an 80’s fan. As a teenager my cousin Rachel was obsessed with all things 80’s –the clothing, the music, the movies – but I wasn’t so much. Going in to college I met one of my dearest friends, Nicki, who loved the 80’s as much if not more than Rachel did.
 
Over the course of the next couple years Nicki has been trying to slowly culture me in all things 80’s, although I’ll admit I’m rather resistant.
 
The other week, however, I watched the movie “The Breakfast Club” which is from the 80’s and tells the story of a group of teenagers who all have to serve detention on Saturday and the experience they have there.
 
I’ll admit, it was a pretty good movie.
 
This week we watched a more modern movie, “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” which is about a character named Scott Pilgrim who has to defeat seven evil ex boyfriends in order to essentially win the heart of his latest love interest Ramona Flowers.
 
Now, I know what you’re thinking, how do these movies have anything to do with anything? The truth is I found two characters in the movies strikingly similar – Ramona and Allison.
 
Ramona is this quiet awkward girl who works for Amazon delivering packages. Allison is one of the girls who is in detention in “The Breakfast Club” and spends her day shaking her dandruff on her art and eating Pixie Stick coated sandwiches.
 
They’re both awkward.
 
But what I realized is that they are such strong bizarre characters, yet they are still beloved characters in the movies. We as the audience are still captivated by what they do, even though they are characters in movies that were made decades apart.
 
So, I can love the 80’s, even if I love modern movies more because we will always have those interconnections.
 
And I think that’s kind of cool.

About farmgirlstravel

An easy way to describe me is: I love. I love people, cultures, traveling and God. I'm thankful for all the amazing opportunities I've had to do all of that at 21 and I'm so looking forward to where my life is going to go :-) Hope you enjoy

Leave a Reply

